COVID-19: Radiology, Revised April 3, 2020

Information from our lawyer:

April 3, 2020

The MO HealthNet Division (MHD) is responding to an outbreak of respiratory disease caused by a novel (new) coronavirus. The virus has been named “SARS-CoV-2” and the disease it causes has been named “coronavirus disease 2019” (abbreviated “COVID-19”).

Effective with dates of service on or after March 1, 2020 providers do not need to obtain prior authorization for Chest CT Scan HCPCS codes 71250, 71260, and 71270 when the following COVID-19 related diagnosis codes are present: B34.2, B97.29, J1289, J20.8, J22, J40, J80, J98.8, R05, R0602, R509, Z03.818, and Z20.828. The MHD will continue to waive the co-payment for these codes.

Prior authorizations for ALL procedures managed by the MHD’s RBM will be approved for 90 days during the COVID-19 crisis. The list of procedures the RBM manages can be found here:

This Hot Tip also applies to providers that are contracted with the Managed Care Organizations.

Harvey M. Tettlebaum

ACR Annual Meeting Converts to Virtual Format

The ACR® 2020 annual meeting is transitioning to a completely virtual meeting that prioritizes ACR governance activities. ACR 2020 will be held entirely online May 16-19.

The ACR 2020 virtual meeting will enable participants to take part in and experience:

  • ACR caucus meetings
  • ACR elections
  • Consideration of ACR Practice Parameters and Technical Standards
  • Consideration of ACR policy resolutions
  • Livestreaming of Presidential Address and Chair’s report
  • Awarding of ACR Gold Medals and Honorary Fellowships

Meeting materials here.

ACR Urges President to Speed PPE Resupply

The American College of Radiology® recently sent a letter to President Trump stating that we are “concerned by the insufficient supply of N95 masks, protective face shields, gowns, gloves and other equipment needed to keep diagnostic imaging professionals safe.”

The College told the President that “We stand ready to work with you and all of the federal and state agencies, as well as the private manufacturing community, to expand the necessary personal protective equipment (PPE) resources and we implore you to further accelerate that production by all means necessary.”

Read the letter.

Missouri Radiological Society Response to COVID-19

The Missouri Radiological Society supports the ACR in strongly recommending that all non urgent imaging is rescheduled due to the COVID-19 outbreak as we all unite in our efforts to flatten the curve. This is in keeping with recommendations from many organizations, including the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and the American Cancer Society. This includes non-urgent imaging, including but not limited to the following: screening mammography, lung cancer screening, non urgent CT, plain film x-ray exams, MRI, and other non-emergent or elective radiologic and radiologically guided exams and procedures.


In light of the COVID-19 outbreak and the decision of MSMA to cancel its meeting next month, the Missouri Radiological Society Executive Committee has also decided to cancel the MORADS Spring Meeting scheduled for April 4, 2020. Thank you for your understanding during this time.

RADPAC March Chapter Challenge

RADPAC is the bipartisan political action committee of the ACRA. Its goal is to support the campaigns of pro-radiology candidates at the federal level through voluntary contributions of ACRA members.

It is that time of year once again where we encourage members in Missouri to donate to RADPAC.  Support our voice by donating to radiology’s premier PAC.  States which win in their division are recognized for their efforts and provided with a cash prize.  Let’s make Missouri  come out on top this year!  Visit to donate.

MORADS Member Dr. Jason Skyles installed as 2020 SLMMS President

Jason Skyles, MD. of West County Radiology was installed this past January as the 2020 St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society president. He joins a select few MORADS members who have served in this role over the past 20 years.

Frank J Lexa, MD, MBA, FACR to deliver 74th Carman Lecture

Frank J. Lexa, MD, MBA, FACR

Dr Lexa is Chief Medical Officer of the Radiology Leadership Institute.
He is also Professor of Clinical Affairs and Operations, Department of Medical Imaging, University of Arizona Medical Center and author of “Leadership Lessons for Healthcare Providers.” 
He will be delivering the 74th Carman lecture on Saturday, April 4, 2020 at the Renaissance Airport Hotel in St Louis, MO. 

There is no cost to attend the lecture and no preregistration required. 

More information about Dr Lexa here.

There’s still time to apply for the Valerie P. Jackson Fellowship

There’s still time to submit your application! The Valerie P. Jackson Education Fellowship is a great way to advance your knowledge and expertise in educational development for residents and practitioners.

For further information visit the ACR page.

Apply by January 3, 2020 to be considered.

10 for Tuesday – Support Health Policy

10 for Tuesday is the ACR Foundation’s newest fundraising campaign to support health policy.  Between now and December 3 (Giving Tuesday) all gifts made during the campaign will support health policy research through the Harvey L. Neiman Health Policy Institute (NHPI).

By giving just $10 each, you and your fellow radiologists across the country can come together to collectively take an active role in ensuring that the radiology profession not only survives, but thrives.  Without credible, evidence based research, we cannot effectively inform policy that supports the value of radiology in the evolving team-based health care model.

To learn more about the 10 for Tuesday campaign and make your contribution, please click here.